Songhai Chen, MD, PhD

Principal Investigator
Associate Professor of Neuroscience and Pharmacology and Internal Medicine

Address: 2-240, BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4562
Email: songhai-chen@uiowa.edu

Songhai Chen received his medical degree from the University of Fujian Medical School, Fujian, China, a M.S. degree from the Beijing Medical University (now Peking University Health Science Center), Beijing, China and a M.D. (Ph.D. equivalent) degree from the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia. He performed post-doctoral research at the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute, St. Vincent Hospital, Sydney, Australia and Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN. He joined the faculty in Department of Pharmacology at the University of Iowa in 2008 and has been a tenured Associate Professor since 2014. His hobbies include traveling, gardening and reading.


Canc
Cancan Lyu photo
an Lyu, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Scholar
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: cancan-lyu@uiowa.edu


Ashley Hurd

Research Intern
Address:  2-240 BSB
Phone:  (319) 384-4563
Email: ashley-hurd@uiowa.edu


Maddison Lensing
Maddison Lensing

Graduate Student
Address:  2-240 BSB
Phone:  (319) 384-4563
Email:  maddison-lensing@uiowa.edu

Maddi’s hometown is Solon, Iowa. She graduated from Iowa State University with a B.S. in Biology and a minor in Chemistry. Her plan is to pursue a career in healthcare. She is currently helping with projects involving breast cancer, diabetes metabolism, and immunology. In her free time, Maddi likes to play Pokémon Go, hike around Lake MacBride, and cheer on the Cyclones.


Alexandria Allen

Undergraduate Research Assistant
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: alexandria-allen@uiowa.edu 


Abigail Crowner photo
Abigail Crowner

Undergraduate Research Assistant
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: abigail-crowner@uiowa.edu


Blake Holmes photo
Blake Holmes

Undergraduate Research Assistant
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: blake-holmes@uiowa.edu 

Blake is an undergraduate student majoring in Interdepartmental Studies on the Health Science track, with a minor in philosophy. He plans on attending medical school. Blake is also involved in Medicus, UIBio, and works at the Law Library. At the Chen Lab, he is assisting research on tumor suppressor genes.


Tim Nguyen
Timothy Nguyen

Undergraduate Research Assistant
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: timothy-nguyen@uiowa.edu 

Tim Nguyen, a Des Moines native, will receive his B.S. in Biology (Genetics & Biotechnology) at the University of Iowa in 2019. He has worked in Dr. Songhai Chen's lab since 2016 and developed an interest in the underlying mechanisms of breast cancer progression and therapy resistance. Tim will begin his graduate studies at Iowa's Interdisciplinary Program in Genetics Fall 2019. In his spare time, Tim enjoys taking pictures, writing poetry, and cooking with friends.


Emily Schmitt

Undergraduate Research Assistant
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: emily-j-schmitt@uiowa.edu


William Draus

Undergraduate Research Assistant
Address: 2-240 BSB
Phone: (319) 384-4563
Email: william-drauss@uiowa.edu